City Commission

Commissioners Final


  • 5:30 p.m. first and third Monday of every month
  • City Hall, 800 Fourth Ave. E., West Fargo, ND 58078

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval. View most recent agendas and minutes

About the Commission

The City of West Fargo operates under the Commission form of Municipal Government, four Commissioners and a Mayor are elected at large. The Mayor serves as President of the Board of City Commissioners. The President (Mayor) votes as a member of the board and does not have veto power. There are five portfolios designated to each member of the City Commission. Those portfolios include:
  • Administration and Finance
  • Police and Fire
  • Streets, Sewer and Water
  • Planning, Zoning and Engineering
  • Sanitation
Every two years, after each election, a reorganization meeting is scheduled to distribute the portfolios to each Commissioner. Typically, the President holds the Finance and Government portfolio and the remaining portfolios are assigned by the President to the four Commissioners. Each Commissioner is also assigned a secondary portfolio.

Participating in the City Commission Meeting

If you would like to participate in the Commission Meeting, fill out the City Commission Agenda Item Request form to submit your request and be heard before the Commission.

Agenda items for an upcoming Commission Meeting must be submitted by noon on the Thursday before the Monday of the meeting. If you have any additional questions about the form process, please contact the Commission Administrative Assistant at 701-433-5317.

West Fargo City Commissioners